Font Size




Menu Style


The isirv Antiviral Group (isirv-AVG) was established as a special interest group of isirv at the time of merger in April 2011 of the former Neuraminidase Inhibitor Susceptibility Network (NISN) with isirv.

The AVG’s specific objectives are to promote understanding of the clinical use of antivirals against respiratory viruses, collate and provide up to date information on the emergence of antiviral resistance, and communicate expert commentary on preclinical and clinical development of potential novel/new antivirals.  

Principal activities and areas of interest of the AVG are listed under members’ interests.



The AVG committee co-ordinates the various activities and represent the interests of the isirv-AVG. Its composition reflects the range of interests and activities of the AVG and is geographically representative of its membership. Committee members have responsibility for organizing particular activities of the group and collating information on particular subject areas for the website or publication, and integrating contributions from the AVG membership.

Members are elected, initially for a period of three years. The procedure and rules for electing new members to the committee are consistent with those adopted for election to the isirv Council. Additional Members may be co-opted from the general AVG membership to serve on the Executive Committee to ensure a balance of geography, gender, scientific interests and skills.


Members will participate in an Annual Committee Meeting, typically held during an AVG-sponsored meeting. Members also participate in conference calls to generate ideas for AVG meetings/workshops, to advise on publications and other initiatives for scientific exchange, as well as to promote the activities of the Group, and isirv as a whole.

The AVG Committee selects a Chair and Co-Chair of the Group from among the members of the Committee, typically at the annual meeting of the Committee. Currently the Chair of the Committee is Alan Hay and Co-chair is Michael Ison.


Committee members:

Kim Armstrong92x92

Kimberly Armstrong

Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA), USA


 Karoline Bragstad


National Influenza Centre, Oslo, Norway
Bin Cao92x92


 Bin Cao


Capital Medical University, Beijing, China

John DeVincenzo

University of Tennessee School of Medicine, Memphis, USA
Alicia Frey Alicia Fry
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, USA.
Elena Gubareva92x92 Elena Govorkova St Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, USA 
Larisa Gubareva Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, USA
Alan Hay92x92 Alan Hay
fred hayden Small Frederick Hayden University of Virginia School of Medicine, Charlottesville, USA


Michael Ison 


Northwestern University, Evanston, USA
angie lackenby92x92

Angie Lackenby

Public Health England, London, UK
R Krug Robert Krug University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA
Jenny McKimm Breschkin Jenny McKimm-Breschkin Melbourne, Australia
Lieve Naesens92x92 Lieve Naesens The Rega Institute, Leuven, Belgium
Andres Pizzorno92x92 Andrés Pizzorno International Center for Research in Infectious Diseases, Lyon, France
Nahoko Shindo World Health Organisation, Geneva, Switzerland
N Sugaya Norio Sugaya Keiyu Hospital, Yokohama, Japan
Emi Takashita92x92 Emi Takashita National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Tokyo, Japan.
Silvie van der Werf Small Sylvie van der Werf Institut Pasteur, Paris, France


 Hui-Ling Yen


University of HongKong, Hongkong SAR, China


top of page




isirv avg logo

avg stack