Font Size




Menu Style


ISIRV Council Members

  Name Institute

Maria Zambon Small

Maria Zambon
Director, Public Health England, UK

Lance Jennings
ISIRV Past-Chair (2013-2019)
ISIRV Governance Committee-Chair


John Wood
ISIRV Deputy Chair

ISIRV Awards Committee-Chair
National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (retired), UK


Jackie Katz
ISIRV Deputy Chair
Deputy Director, Influenza Division, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USA (retired)


Rebecca Cox
ISIRV Deputy Chair
Professor of Medical Virology and Head of the Influenza Centre, University of Bergen, Norway
Alan Hay 005
Alan Hay
Director & Trustee

ISIRV Treasurer

Antiviral Group Chair

Former Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza and Visiting Scientist, Francis Crick Institute, London UK.
Janet Daly 3
Janet Daly
Director & Trustee

Neglected Influenza Viruses Group-Chair
Associate Professor in Emergent Viruses, School of Veterinary Medicine & Science,University of Nottingham, UK
John McCauley
John McCauley
Director & Trustee
Director of the Worldwide Influenza Centre, Francis Crick Institute,London.
Barbara Rath

Barbara Rath

Epidemiology Group Chair  (ex-officio)

Co-founder & Chair, Vienna Vaccine Safety Initiative and Honorary Professor, University of Nottingham School of Medicine, UK
P Openshaw
Peter Openshaw
International Respiratory Syncytial Virus Society - Chair   (ex-officio)
Professor of Experimental Medicine,
President - British Society for Immunology,
Imperial College Consul (Clinical), National Heart & Lung Institute

Michael Ison

ISIRV Scientific Meetings Committee-Chair

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois USA
ben cowling

Benjamin Cowling

EIC Journal of Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses

Professor, WHO Collaborating Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Control, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong

G.K. Balasubramani web pic G.K. Balasubramani
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, Assistant Professor of Family Medicine, Department of Epidemiology, University of Pittsburgh, USA

 Cheryl Cohen

Cheryl Cohen

Associate Professor in Epidemiology at the University of Witwatersrand and Co-head of the Centre for Respiratory Disease and Meningitis at the National Institute for Communicable Diseases,South Africa

Rodrigo Fasce
Rodrigo Fasce
Head of Virology Department, Public Health Institute of Chile (PHI).
 Larisa Gubareva

Larisa Gubareva

Lead of the Molecular Epidemiology Team, Influenza Division, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Atlanta, USA
hampson pic

Alan Hampson

heraud web 

Jean-Michel Héraud


Head, Virology Unit and National Influenza Center, Institut Pasteur from Madagascar, Antananarivio, Madagascar
Dr Jude Jayamaha NIC Sri Lanka Jude Jayamaha

Consultant Virologist Department of Virology Medical Research Institute, Sri Lanka

Nelson Lee

Nelson Lee Professor Division of Infectious Diseases in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Alberta, Canada


Emanuele Montomoli

Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, University of Siena, Italy

Matthew Scotch web pic Matthew Scotch

Associate Professor, College of Health Solutions and Assistant Director, Biodesign Center for Environmental Health Engineering, Biodesign Institute Faculty, The Honors College, Arizona State University, USA.
Senior Visiting Fellow, University of New South Wales, Australia.

  N Sugaya

Norio Sugaya Director, Keiyu Hospital, Yokohama, Japan

 tompkins web

S. Mark Tompkins Associate Professor, Department of Infectious Diseases, University of Georgia, USA
Sylvie van der Werf 34618 Sylvie van der Werf Professor, University Paris Diderot and Head of the Molecular Genetics of RNA Viruses Unit at the Institut Pasteur

 Hassan Zaraket

Hassan Zaraket
Assistant Professor, American University of Beirut


isirv Honorary Vice President

john watson        

John Watson               
Former Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health, UK